At Day’s End

cropped-dsc_0337.jpg

Even on top of the highest dune
one cannot see beyond the horizon,
only watch how the waves break –
and see the water drops rejoin,
to become a part of the sea again.
Is it not with our life the same?
For we cannot see a new tomorrow
just how the day comes to an end –
and at night we gather our thoughts,
in such way, to be a part of all again.

21 Replies to “At Day’s End”

  1. Francina,

    You touch the soul with the wisdom and beauty of this poem.

    Your photography and your poetry is such a pleasure!

    Thank you,
    Sarah

    1. Thank you , dear Sarah, for your always appreciated comments and your ongoing support πŸ™‚
      And you’re welcome.
      love, Francina

  2. Very beautiful metaphors… The poetic image are so accurate.
    Such is life indeed!. We can not see beyond the distant horizon, just how the day comes to an end as the sun goes down. πŸ˜‰ Sending much love, dear Francina! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, dear Aquileana , for your kind and generous response.
      Sending much love right back at you πŸ™‚ Have a lovely day!

  3. I like your poem, Francina, and I hope you will not be offended by my comment. You may not agree with what I say, but that is fine. My intention is pure.

    If you had stopped at the end of the fifth line then I think you would have made the same statement and perhaps more strongly by directing us as readers to our imaginations and thus to our hearts and souls rather than to our intellects. Try that out and see what you think/feel. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Ben. Not to worry, I know you ment well. I rather take it as a compliment.

      I see your point. Yes that is indeed a good possibility too. I could have stopped after the 5th line.

      I’m only not sure if the comparison, I wanted to make, might have worked the way I wanted it. Besides that I wanted to emphasize the comparison between nature and human. But yes, I agree it could work both way.

      Have a nice evening πŸ™‚

Please leave a comment. Thank you kindly

