A Poem by Tjitske Dijkstra

On my latest visit to the isle of Schiermonnikoog, I walked down to the beach where my eyes caught this wooden frame. At first I thought it might be nice just to take a picture of it. However when I came closer, I noticed that there was something written on the wooden  cross-pieces . As it turned out it was this beautiful poem, written by Tjitske Dijkstra. She was so kind to grant me permission to translate  her poem in English and use it for this blog post. I do hope you enjoy her poem as much as I do.

 

Gun mij zo nu en dan een klein podium
zodat je me ziet staan
ik stel geen absurde eisen
gun mij zo nu en dan een klein podium
ik speel namelijk liever geen toneel
ik heb geen staande ovatie nodig
ik hunker naar waardering om wie ik ben
zodat je me ziet staan
gun me zo en dan een klein podium

Dutch Poem: © Tjitske Dijkstra

schier 2016 301a

Grant me every now and then a small stage
for you to notice me
I don’t make ridiculous demands
grant me every now and then a small stage
I would rather prefer not to act
I’m in no need of a standing ovation
I only yearn for appreciation of who I am
for you to notice me
grant me every now and then a small stage.

Translation:© Francina Hartstra ,2017

schier 2016 299a

15 Replies to “A Poem by Tjitske Dijkstra”

  1. I love it, Francina,

    It is a quiet poem, spring loaded with energy and emotion.
    The poem, the translation, the photograph…soul-touching
    and stirring..

    1. Thank you as always, dear Sarah. I’m sure Tjitske will be delighted by your generous response.
      The evening was just perfect to find a gem like this poem. An empty beach at twilight time.
      Have a great weekend , my dear friend ❤

Please leave a comment. Thank you kindly

