Gabriele Geier in Unkeler Höfen

In this post I would like to introduce the artist Gabriele Geier. Gabriele and I met at the Unkeler Art Festival.  Gabriele too, was so generous to give me approval to use my photos from her wire hangers and paper art and her German text in this post. Please respect the copyright note at the end of the article out of respect for the artist. Thank you and may you enjoy her art as much as I do.
10-aug-2013 397

Ich arbeite mit verschiedenen Materialien wie Ton, Holz, Stein, Gips, teilweise in Kombination mit Fundstücken aus Metall. Durch die Teilnahme an Kunstkursen und Workshops (Bildhauerei, Zeichnung) an der Alanus Kunsthochschule in Alfter bei Bonn/Köln erweitere ich meine künstlerischen Fähigkeiten. Seit 2000 zeige ich meine Arbeiten in regionalen Ausstellungen. Ich bin aktives Mitglied der Gruppe EigenArt rhein und Panta Rhein 637. Die hier gezeigten Arbeiten entstanden 2013 aus Drahtkleiderbügeln und Papier.

I work with clay, wood, stone, plaster, partly in combination with found used metal pieces. Through the completion of courses and art workshops Sculptures/Drawing at the Alanus Kunsthochschule in Alfter close to Bonn/Köln, I have developed my artistic skills further. Since 2000, I show my art at various exhibitions. I’m an active member of the group EigenArt und Panta Rhei(n) 637

10-aug-2013 348

Meine Motivationen:
My Motivations

Mein Interesse gilt dem menschlichen Sein mit alle seinen Facetten und Spielarten. Die Darstellung der Verletzbarkeit , Brüchigkeit, Abgründigkeit und Begrenztheit des menschlichen Lebens ist mein besonderes Anliegen. Der plastische Werkstoff Ton/Gips bietet mir dabei die Möglichkeit, meine Eindrucke „wiederauszudrücken“. Besondere Freude bereitet mir die sinnliche Erfahrung des Werkstoffs Ton als plastisch formbares Material , wobei die dreidimensionale Formgebung nicht nur über die Augen , sondern vor allem durch die Hände erfahrbar wird.

My main interest is the human being with all its facets and variations. In particular the portrayal of the vulnerability, fragility, inscrutability and limitations of human life. The material clay / plaster gives me the opportunity to “represent ” my impressions. I particularly enjoy the sensorially experience with clay as a form-able ductile material, the three-dimensional shaping is not only through the eyes, but above all experienced by the hands.
10-aug-2013 347

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt meiner bisherigen Arbeiten liegt in der Auseinandersetzung mit alten, ausgedienten, scheinbar wertlosen Fundstücken oder Werkstoffen. Sie finden bei Installationen in Kombination mit Gips, Papier oder Ton eine neue Bedeutung. In diesen ungewohnten Kontext verändern sie meine Sichtweise auf Gewohntes oder scheinbar Wertloses.

Another focus of my previous work is the exploration of old , worn-out , seemingly worthless found objects or materials. They will find a new meaning by reusing them in combination with other materials such as plaster , paper or clay. In this unusual context they change my way of looking at familiar or seemingly worthless things.

10-aug-2013 400
Gabriele Geier

Please click on photo for larger image.
Note: All material in this post is copyright material of their author unless otherwise stated, no part may be used by any means without the written permission from their author.

31 Replies to “Gabriele Geier in Unkeler Höfen”

  1. Very beautiful and fragile looking. The third one makes me think of dolphins for some reason even though she said her inspiration comes from the human form, but then we’re all related after all.

    1. Thank you, Sheila. 🙂 The longer I looked at these art pieces the more I started to liked it. There is also a feel of pureness, I think . Groetjes, Francina

  2. So fascinating and unusual. I really liked her explaining that she used ‘old , worn-out , seemingly worthless found objects or materials.”
    I am going to take another look in my closets and drawers. Maybe I can find something in there that is of use after all. 🙂

    1. Thank you for your visit and much appreciated reply. This particular exhibition was at the end of August in Unkel. Gabriel and the others artist have regular an exhibition in the area though. You might like to contact Gabriele or Anja Rihm to find out where they will be next.
      groetjes, Francina

    2. Thank you. If they are from the Köln/Bonn area I am sure there will be exhibitions again somewhere around here. I like these things.

  3. My comment disappeared! Here goes again!

    These are fascinating! How lovely to be able to make these and be able to see new meaning in what are generally thought of as worthless things.

    I really love the second one; I could very easily live with this! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing tis Francina!

    Lots of love and hugs
    Xxx

Please leave a comment. Thank you kindly

