I saw a Man

I saw a man this dawn,
he stood on the other side,
quietly, with ghostly eyes,
and, oh, the river was so wide,

he didn’t speak, I couldn’t ask
because my voice made no sound,
however I understood why he came
for I knew where he was bound,

thus I waited, till he faded out of sight,
to become as one with the morning light.

38 Replies to “I saw a Man”

  1. I just love the atmosphere of your poem Francina; a gorgeous misty image. I am getting to know your poetry so much more after reading all of your lovely book and I can say with confidence this is a” Francina poem” 🙂 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Xxx

    1. Thank you, dear Christine 🙂 I’m happy to hear you like this poem and the booklet. You made me smile when you say : It’s a Francina poem 🙂 Mine are sometimes a tad misty 🙂 Lots of love and hugs from across the creek xoxo

  2. This is lovely, this poem reminds me of the one written by William Hughes Mearns;
    Yesterday upon the stair
    I met a man who wasn’t there
    He wasn’t there again today
    I wish, I wish he’d go away.

    1. Thank you, Val 🙂 thank you so much for the reference of the poem by William Hughes Mearns , I looked the whole poem up at the internet. It’s a beautiful one, I love it. Welcome back! It’s great to see you again. You have been missed. Groetjes, Francina

Please leave a comment. Thank you kindly

